De Haan wins third Stinger Medal

March 1, 2013 No Comments

First XI leg spinner and recent inductee into Elwood’s greatest ever team Rob De Haan won his third Ray Howard Medal in four years on Saturday night.

Having taken 41 wickets in the Longmuir home and away season, eclipsing Craig Hitchock’s long standing record of 39, De Haan was a deserving winner of this prestigious award.

But it was another spinner, 2nd XI young gun Mitch Clarke, that almost claimed the award, coming home late in the count to fall just one point behind Rob at the end of Round 11.

4th XI all-rounder Zac Lesier-Moore was rewarded for his outsanding year by finishing third.

Zac Leser-Moore, Stinger Medal winner Rob De Haan and Mitch Clarke

*A PDF of everyone’s votes can be found here.

The Stinger is one of the most prestigious awards at the club — it’s our Brownlow Medal. Every week the captain’s give our beloved Secretary Lindy Adamson 7 votes per game, with one player unable to receive more than three votes.

Feature Articles, News, Newsletter

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.