The Ray “Stinger” Howard Medal: March 8

March 6, 2014 No Comments

The Ray “Stinger” Howard Medal count will be held on Saturday night, March 8 at the Village Belle function room (upstairs) from 7.30pm.

The count will begin at 8.30pm, so if you want to get a substantial meal before the event, we advise to go a little earlier and order something delicious from the kitchen. There will be platters of finger food for free available at the beginning of the night.

It is is one of the most prestigious medals to be won at Elwood and any player from the 1st XI to the 7th XI is eligible to win it. Last year’s winner Rob De Haan (pictured, who has won it three times in four years) has missed a few games this year through injury so, for the first time in a long time, the Stinger is up for grabs.

It will be a great night, so we encourage all current senior players to attend as it is the last thing on Elwood’s social calendar before April’s Presentation Night.

All inquiries to Elwood secretary Lindy Adamson on 0402 306 166.

Thanks to Elwood’s official bookmaker, BoundiBet, here are the latest odds for the 2013/14 Stinger Medal.

  • Mick Roberts – $1.95
  • Adam Howard – $4.10
  • Mitch Clarke – $4.50
  • John Phillips – $6.00
  • Sammy Dagher – $7.90
  • Leigh Josey – $10.50
  • Ray Earls – $12.15
  • Iqrar Turi – $15.25
  • Ian Grundy – $18.75
  • Paul Marcolin -$22.50
  • Rosy Town – $22.50
  • Russell Campbell – $22.75
  • Luke Baille – $22.75
  • Wasif Latif – $25.00
  • Anders Bülow – $25.15
  • Peter Champas – $26.00
  • Jamie Jordan – $28.75
  • Jason Norris – $53.00
  • Robbie De Haan – $55.00
  • Luke Stanley – $123
  • Bhoondi – $506780086433
  • Adam Moose Green – no bets taken

*The Stinger is one of the most prestigious awards at the club — it’s our Brownlow Medal. Every week the captain’s give our beloved Secretary Lindy Adamson seven votes per game, with one player unable to receive more than three votes.

**A PDF of everyone’s votes from last year can be found here.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.