Chisholm & Gamon Round: Round 6: The Teams & Elwood loses T20 grand final in a bowl off

December 11, 2015 No Comments


Morning all Elwood players & supporters,

Firstly, thanks for everyone who came down to the club and supported the boys on Wednesday in the grand final of the SECA Twenty20 competition against West Bentleigh.

If I was to tell you that after 3 preliminary rounds and two finals, including twice against East Sandringham with Brad Hodge in the side, that we did not lose a game, but somehow didn’t walk away with the title, you would be amazed. But that is what happened. We kept West Bentleigh to 135 after they won the toss and batted, and it included a fine four wicket haul by Rob De Haan. In reply, we off to a shaky start before Matt Young and Sammy Tee steadied the ship. Skipper Stuart Clark played a heroic innings and we needed just one run of the last ball to win but unfortunately Stuey was run out off the last ball. Amid a sea of confusion, it became apparent that the grand final was to be decided by a “bowl off” — five bowlers for each side bowling one ball each and whoever hit the stumps the most won.

Unfortunately, West Bentleigh hit the stumps more than us, and walked away with the title. So after being undefeated after 5 games of Twenty20 cricket, the title was decided in the most curious of manners. Despite the result, our boys can hold their heads up high as they were magnificent, as was the support from the club. The scorecard is here.

Now to Round 6. The club remains in strong positions across the top five senior grades. Suffice to say that this round is incredibly important to all teams finals chances. Lets get 6 wins across the board!

And remember, we are having our Christmas Party at the club next Saturday, December 19, at the conclusion of the round!

Good luck everyone!

1st XI (4th) vs. Kingston Heath 1 (9th) at Southern Road Reserve (Southern Rd, Mentone):
Umpires: Steve Bott & Noel Pullen

  1. S. Clark (wk)
  2. R. Harris
  3. A. Howard
  4. M. Young
  5. N. Harris (c)
  6. K. Dompietro
  7.  M. Harris
  8. C. Phillips
  9. R. De Haan
  10. D. Bulcock
  11. M. Bayer

2nd XI (6th) vs Kingston Heath 2  (12th) at Elwood:
Umpire: Daryl Cox

  1. L. Harris
  2. A. Green (c)
  3. A. Cosmas
  4. H. Persson
  5. L. Baillie (wk)
  6. M. Rosendorff
  7. G. Kingi
  8. J. Jordan
  9. N. Turner
  10. J. Murphy
  11. T. Balme

3rd XI (8th) vs St. Johns Elsternwick 1  (10th) at Caulfield Park Oval No.7 (off Balaclava Rd, Caulfield Nth):
Umpire: Rodney Blackman

  1. R. Earls (c)
  2. S. Dagher (wk)
  3. P. Tsiampas
  4. H. Twigg
  5. L. Josey (wk)
  6. D. Szydlik
  7. K. Wetdewich/Z. Leiser-Moore
  8. R. Campbell
  9. N. Fernie
  10. N. Pitkin
  11. G. Thwaites

4th XI (6th) vs Chealsea Heights/Aspendale Gardens 3 (4th) at Elwood:

  1. S. Marcolin (wk)
  2. J. Phillips
  3. M. McNaughton
  4. D. Robertson
  5. G. Phillips
  6. M. Walker
  7. S. Murphy
  8. H. Marshall
  9. L. Venn
  10. B. Picone
  11. A. Fisher (c)

5th XI (5th) vs Omega 5 (7th) at Bonbeach Primary School (Breeze Street, Bonbeach):

  1. A. Oulton
  2. E. Jones
  3. C. Lyon
  4. J. Schibli
  5. A. Dillon (wk)
  6. J. Norris
  7. D. Wood
  8. L. Stanley (c)
  9. J. Grollo
  10. L. Dillon
  11. D. May

6th XI (12th) vs Melbourne Wanderers 3 (9th) at Fawkner Park Oval No.3 (Ross Satchwell Oval) (Commercial Rd, South Yarra):

  1. C. McQuilin-Feehan
  2. J. Twigg
  3. J. Weinbach
  4. J. Caust
  5. J. Leftovic
  6. P. Reilly
  7. A. Burney
  8. A. Chambers
  9. E. O’Mahony
  10. M. Marcolin
  11. T. King (c)


  1. C. Ruwansiri
  2. S. Hussein
  3. S. Tee
  4. A. Tonkin
  5. C. Wilcox
  6. O. Persson
  7. M. Clarke
  8. J. Greening
  9. Z. Leiser-Moore
  10. A. Parkinson
  11. D. Clothier
  12. J. Fisher
  13. P. Marcolin
  14. T. Rourke
  15. O. Woods
  16. D. Wilsonsen
  17. J. Crocker
  18. G. Elliott
  19. W. Latif
  20. B. Troeth
  21. M. Wallace
  22. C. Williams
  23. J. Spiropoulos
  24. C. Hicks

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.